Short Stirling-1/72 MPC

I think I learned why that old Revell B-24 kit had so many issues. This kit has similar problems but not as bad that and I figured out you need to straighten parts BEFORE you assemble them. I dry tested it in this kit, I straightened the wing halves and they go together much better than trying to straighten them out after assembly and you don’t split the glue seams open. This was a sealed kit and I just opened it. I was surprised and shocked that it was white plastic and the sprues had been butchered to make it fit the box. They took the wing halves and folded the sprues to bring the wing halve together almost assembled! Also there was a large twisted sprue with nothing on it that resembled an octogonal pretzel. Everything was in the box, a lot was all over the bottom. It seems nice for an old kit but I don’t understand the crappy instructions, non existant parts numbers on the sprues or parts, and why the horrid pink decals! Anyways I started painting the interior Polly S acrylic British Interior Gray Green. John

6 Likes

This is actually the 1966 Airfix kit reboxed by MPC in 1969. Numbering the parts on the sprue was rarely done back then. Sometimes there was an outline of the sprue in the instructions with a number next to it - if you got anything - but usually the parts were so basic, that looking at the instructions was supposed to be enough to show you what part to look for. Good fit was also an optional extra not found in these kits…

5 Likes

Wow! Now that’s a challenge! :astonished:

1 Like

Wow, I remember the original Airfix kit and the plastic was black. So odd seeing it in white, not that it makes any difference really. Looking forward to following your progress John…

2 Likes