Stalingrad factory diorama 1:35

Hello! I wanted to share making of my diorama set in the battle of Stalingrad. I’m really slow and have been building it for 2 months now. I’ve made a factory building from cork and some steel construction and the pipes. I want to fill the inside of the factory with some collapsed steel beams and constructions. I am also considering buying Miniart stairs to put it there.

Sorry for the photo quality it is alredy dark here so i had to use a camera flash. Any suggestions are welcomed!

20 Likes

I think it looks you’re off to a great start. “Start” doesn’t seem the right word as there is a lot of work there already!

Hi I really like brick buildings and this looks really good. You’ve done a lot in two months let it take time (I’m an extremely slow builder)

Love the brickwork and layout of the diorama. Looking forward to seeing this one as it progresses.

Cheers,
C.

Brickwork, my favourite issue.
Real brickwork that is supposed to carry the load of a whole wall and possibly the floors above is NOT built like LEGO-bricks. Bricks used only as a decorative covering on a load bearing steel or concrete structure can be laid like LEGO. Brick walls are more than one brick thick and that requires cross bonding.

Ask Google about: brick bond.
This could be a starting point: 10 Types Of Brick Bonds
Brickwork - Wikipedia

I don’t know which type of bond they used in Russia or the Soviet Union
but a load carrying wall was almost certainly not build with stretcher bond.

I’m not saying that you should change it, that decision is only YOURS
Cheers :smile:

Ruins of the Red October plant:

Check lower left corner for one type of bond, other sections of the wall are done differently.
This can be used to create visual interest (it’s a pain in the backside to create though …)
https://stalingradfront.com/tours/red-october-plant/

The Red Triangle factory in St Petersburg (ex Leningrad) was used when filming one of the movies about Stalingrad.