Tamiya thinner

I have built a few models in the past using a brush with Tamiya paints and thinning them with isopropyl alcohol. I am currently building a StuG IV and it will be my first attempt at airbrushing a model.

I need to run to the store to grab some paint for my latest project and got to thinking that I had seen Tamiya acrylic thinner advertised before. My question is, when airbrushing is it best to use the Tamiya thinner, or will isopropyl alcohol work too? I also have access to RO water if that will work as well. I don’t mind buying the thinner but don’t want to spend money on something that isn’t necessary

1 Like

I’m no expert on air brushing but I mostly use tamiya paints and when air brushing I also use their thinners. I haven’t had a problem with it so far. Hope that helps. I’m sure others will advise as well who know better … John

If your local hobby shop has mr levelling thinner, use that. If not then use Tamiya lacquer thinner.
Other solutions may work but won’t work as well.

1 Like

While others may differ, I am a proponent of using the proprietary thinner for whatever brand of paint you may be using. As I AB almost exclusively with Tamiya I would suggest that you use their lacquer thinner which comes in the larger plastic bottle with a yellow cap. You will get good results with their acrylic thinner but when I switched I immediately noticed that the paint flowed much better and laid down much better also. Practice and experiment till you find the paint/thinner/air pressure that you are comfortable with and that gives you the desired results. Painting with an AB is not an exact science. What works for one does not necessarily work for another. That is true of individuals as well as different paint brands. Even within the same brand different colors will require different ratios. Best advice is to just practice and experiment till you find a combination that works for you. Good luck.

2 Likes