The size and scope of scale model building

When someone asks me “what are your hobbies, what do you like to do?” I generally tell them the usual ‘grown up’ things like hunting or fishing or I ride my mountainbike or I’m into Indycar racing but seldom do I mention scalemodeling, and I’ve got to know you pretty good, I’m talkin’ years here, before I share my true intrests. When you tell the average person “I build models” their eyes glaze over and they get this quizzical look on their face like they don’t comprehend this puzzleing statement you just blurted out. Immediately their mind envisions some nerd that sits around playing with toy soldiers and putting firecrackers in German airplanes and watching them blow up, ripping the fuselage apart like a plugged up shotgun barrel. You can see it in their demeanor, you have just transitioned into a dork.
Yes.
I’m a closet modeler. Have been most of my life.