Tiger 1 "123" of schwere pzabt 503

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in constructive comments, so go gently. :slightly_smiling_face:

My plan is to turn the Academy Tiger I early (with interior but I’m not bothering with that as it will be nearly all buttoned up) into tank 123 of schwere pzabt 503 in mid-1943. Some reference photos below. Disclaimer: I make no claim to owning these photos.

I started this kit years ago, and then lost interest, but now it has found its way back to the bench.

So far I’ve added weld seams. Changed the loaders turret side hatch for a second pistol port. Ive added a pz iii turret bin from a Dragon kit, I think. I’ve done a lot of work on the rear plate as this tank didn’t have fiefel filters, including scratching the jerry can rack from a beer can! I’ve also adjusted the engine deck as the fiefel piping assembly wasn’t installed.

I’ve read the idler wheel mounting is too short which makes the idler ride too high. To address this, I’ve removed the mounting and scratched my own which are longer and will hopefully resolve this issue when I attach the running gear.

I’ve textured the plate on the sponson sides and will do the same soon to the turret sides.

Here are some photos.

Constructive comments welcome!

Cheers

Matthew

12 Likes

Well I have to say, with my untrained Tiger eye, it’s looking pretty good with where you’re at with it Matthew. The parts that are scratched look very neat and well put together.
Nice crisp work and will be good seeing more of 123 as it builds up.
Jerry can holder is very nicely done btw :+1:

don’t you have the part for the correct turret hatch/vision port in the kit? I had that for my fehrmann one

Looks like the Tiger is coming along well. I like your enhanced weld seams.

No. I don’t. I’ll have to scrape it i the right size.

@Johnnych01 @Armor_Buff Thanks for the kind words. I’ll post more progress soon.

1 Like