Trumpeter 2P19 Launcher with R-17 Missile SCUD B

So, I’ve been plodding along with this build for a few months making slow (even for me!) progress, but I’m just about ready to start the initial finishing and some final assembly (lower hull, suspension, tracks, and crew cab interior). I realized that I haven’t shared any of the work yet despite teasing that I would back when I was doing some early research.

For the record, the kit is:
“Ex-Soviet 2P19 Launcher w/ R-17 Missile 9SS-1C SCUD B) on 8K14 Missile System Complex”

Trumpeter 2P19 Scud Missile Launcher

I won’t bother repeating any of the earlier research discissions and findings. I would just refer anyone really interested to this thread:

Soviet 2P19 SCUD TEL Reference and Research

The official Soviet and NATO nomenclatures for the launcher and missile can be confusing, and the research info was my best effort to clarify it all for myself. Hopefully it’ll help you, too.

I would offer once again that if you really are interested in the subject, you should go to the thread and follow the link to the research material on DropBox. it can be downloaded for free. The file is still there as of this post (02/02/'23), but that is subject to change at any time that I need the file space. Get it now while you still can…

I also won’t try to do any sort of “review” of the kit, Trumpeter Item No. 01024. Scalemates lists its release date as 2015, so the kit is well over 8 years old by now. Not too terribly long-in-the-tooth, but it’s certainly not bleeding edge state of the art. It has a few warts, but, so far, I’ve found it pretty much standard fare. It has some fantastic fine details along with some poorly done features, like mismatched locator pin and hole sizes, a bit of flash, etc. Certainly not a “bad” kit by any stretch, and I’d rate the majority of it is so far as “very good to excellent.”