Trumpeter M142 HIMARS

Hello.

I startet Trumpeter’s M142. I modified the cab to a newer version. I used pictures from the web as a guide.
Any comments are welcome.

14 Likes

Looking good. I’ll be watching as I have the kit and I am planning to update it as well.

Thanks Gino.

For me it was the quickest and easiest way to make something out of it. The model has been on the shelf for a long time.
Rounding the edges, changing the shape of the door, new bolts on the additional armor. The interior of the cabin remains kit-like, very simple.
I changed a few things on the chassis with the help of the legend kit.
Unfortunately not quite 100%.

Looks good! I’ve pulled that kit out a couple times and looked at making the same changes.

I’ll be watching too, as I also have this kit. I will be thrilled if it comes out good OOB, though. I have no updating knowledge/skills!

Gary

Please tell us what the mods are?
I also have the kit.
What time period is the kit?
Thanks

The Trumpeter kit was of an earlier prototype. It is not the accepted and fielded version. As such, it has a hard line along the middle of the cab, additional armor attachment points in different places, equally sized front windows with bolted frames, larger side door windows with bolted frames, a step in the rear of the door profile, exposed electronics box on cab side, and a few other differences. The front bumper is also of an older design.

Trumpeter model.

Fielded version.

The bumper can be updated using the Legend M1078 Late Conversion Set (1303).

1 Like

Thanks

Thank you Gino for your explanation! Better than I could do.

My construction is based on this photo.

This version is without the additional armour.

Andreas

No camo yet I see.

I have seen them in only sand and green so far in the field.

Apparently this one has a green cab with NATO camo on the rest of the launcher and truck chassis. Not sure what its story is. Maybe a prototype that was updated w/the newer cab.

1 Like