3D HEMTT A4 Conversion Parts in the Works

Hello, I’m new to this page since today.
I’m designing and printing the parts to build a HEMMT A4 but with visible engine.
The model kit where these parts are going to fit is the kit from Italeri / Dragon.
Today I’m starting the suspensions, but I’m not sure If I’m going to design axles also or just the suspension alone and use the kit axles.

This picture is the engine with the side radiators, still need to make the fans and holes in the exhaust shroud.

12 Likes

Welcome aboard Andy. :+1:

1 Like

Welcome aboard!
An A4 conversion could be really interesting!

2 Likes

Welcome to the darkside …

2 Likes

Thanks guys, I already made a conversion set to change the HobbyBoss 1/35 M1070 in to the M1070A1.

Hardest part or let me say most time consuming part is the research for these projects.

7 Likes

Nice products. I really like the HEMTT A4 parts. A little too late for my project, but it looks great.

For the suspension on mine, I used one already on Shapeways that is just the cantilevers and bags. It was undersized though, so needed some mods. I used the kit axles. You can see them in my build.

1 Like

I just designed these front and rear suspensions today.
Still doubting to design them with the axles on them.
Only have to account for the driveshafts between them if I go with the axles.

Same problem with the engine bay, do I design and print the complete platform, or just the engine, radiators and top cover.

4 Likes

Nice job, the bags look short to me though. This was the same issue I had with the Shapeways set.

2 Likes

I used the data and images I found online.
It could be that the bags are longer / higher when there is no load on them.
But I kept to the dimensions of the kit and true to the images I found online.

Biggest part of the day was searching and reading the manuals / data I found.

Schermafbeelding 2023-08-10 102722

3 Likes