BMPT 2 Terminator

Tiger Models and Trumpeter make the BMPT 2. Tiger Models looks like a later version.
Opinions on these two kits? I have not built a Tiger Model kit so I have no experience with their fit.

Haven;t built neither, but I will be adding this one to my to-do list, I’m steering towards the TIger Models version, but that’s my personal inclination.

It will be interesting to see the differences and similarities between both kits.

Meng and Zvezda also do Terminator variants. If I recall correctly from a FB post you need to combine kits in order to get the Russian in service version, one Trumpeter kit gives you the version used by Kazakhstan and so on.

I have the Meng and the Zvezda kits if you want photos or specific details.

Wasn’t the Meng kit built off the early production prototype?

The early BMPT had a different hull setup than that on the BMPT-72 “Terminator 2”.

I think so yes

1 Like

Current production BMPT-72 “Terminator II”, You can see the single driver’s hatch on the lower hull and the angled side-by-side launchers for the 9M120 “Ataka” ATGMs.

Versus the early production prototype of the BMPT “Terminator”, with the dual hull hatches on both sides of the driver’s hatch and vertically mounted and unshielded launchers.

1 Like

Some info from FB

1 Like

and here is the link with a bunch of STL files for 3D printing details, stowage boxes etc.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/15ePrWQb0IXZ5eX1x0bsuPXtNkI-nYmZ_?fbclid=IwAR1fsS5gPb1WknRB4AZSLXvrN8jADFFXmiOX6yw-_ZwLGfaj4QKY_P7snaI

1 Like

this is my kit of the BMPT this is the later release from Zevzda

2 Likes

Here’s both of them, straight out of the box. One’s a Tiger and one’s a Meng. Can’t remember which is which……

2 Likes

I’ll take a swing at it. Meng on the left; Tiger on the right.

4 Likes