Does Merkava IV with Trophy have barrel stripe?

I’m referring to the stripe that runs down the barrel, not the rings. Does this latest version of the Merkava carry that? Anyone know?

1 Like

4 Likes

Whats the reason for it?

Pure speculation - it wouldn’t be to reflect light to cool the barrel - from that 1st pic, it’s not wide enough, plus the fibreglass thermal shroud should do that already?

Also interesting contrast to how the jubilee clamps are applied, more familiar with chieftain where the joint is aligned on the sides, not the top of the barrel.

Mal

1 Like

Line of sight indicator to assist the TC.

4 Likes

I learn something new here every day.

I’ve never heard them referred to as “Jubilee Clamps”.

I’ve never been a tanker but I was a mechanic for nearly 40 years. In the US automotive industry, they’re called band clamps in most applications.

Very cool. I’ll file this with Oetiker clamps and Adel clamps.

1 Like

Yes the Brits refer to them as Jubilee Clamps, was new to me when I crash coursed Chieftain.

LOS indicator - that makes sense.

Mal

1 Like

Well, I was a TC in the US Army and would have never thought of it in that function.

Yes, when the TC lines the stripe up with the target, he knows it is within the gunners view. I had a groove carved on top of my M85 sight housing on the cupola for the same reason. If the copula was locked down, aligning the groove with the target assured the gunner was close to the target. If you fly over the tank while it is engaged, you can see the direction to the target.

1 Like

I’m just about to start Meng’s Merkava Mk IVM - inspired by @Jan_Degryse and his build, and @ReluctantRenegade invaluable insight into the vehicle - and so this was of interest to me (i’m new to modern armour full stop, so am a knowledge sponge right now).