Mastering painting

OK I’ll admit I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed but this painting thing is getting under my skin.

Let me first say that I’ve been modelling for about 200 years. Would you believe 100 years? How about 50 years? So in that 50 years I’ve use numerous brands such as Testors, Floquil, Tamiya, Humbrol etc etc etc. Used brushes and airbrushes. Painting has always caught me out. Something I have never mastered.
So what’s the secret? I’ve worn Google out looking for answers. I find an answer only to find another site that contradicts the first site.

Here’s my latest predicament. I use Mig Ammo. I’ve ‘almost’ figured out the air brush. Lay down a primer. Some hairspray. Top coat of acrylic. Then some oil dots. Wham oh. My thinners removes the oil and my top coat. Some say to spray on a protective clear coat. Others say no you don’t.
Is it my thinners? Is it the hairspray? Is it the humidity here? Is it me? No can’t be me! :roll_eyes:

Well I’m building this 88mm flak gun. Primer. A bit of hairspray on just a few select parts. Top coat. Oil dots and the removal of the oil dots is also removing my top coat. Yes I can go so far but then the top coat starts to come off. I can work with that. I can go lightly. But what’s the answer? What’s my problem? Folks on YouTube throw the oil on and take it off with a broom and have no issues!

Last night I did an experiment. I brushed on some Mig Ammo satin clear coat on a to be unseen area. This morning out with the oils. A few dots on top of the clear coat. Thinners and brush brush brush. BINGO. No top coat coming off. A clear coat works. Good now I have to get the air brush out every time and clear coat everything!! :thinking:

Now why do I find it essential to apply a clear coat while others say no you don’t? Why is there no one answer fits all?

If Santa really existed he would write a book about “Fool proof model painting”.

Rant over.

Who else finds painting a mystery?

bruce

1 Like