Not happy miss the old days

I have been a “lurker” for years on this sight and joined silently in the back ground a while ago. I have learned an insane amount of knowledge from some of the best people in our hobby. But I have also seen a downward trend of members of this sight ridiculing other members. I have watched as knowledgeable members of this site get harassed and have left for the sole reason that they have never shown their work. You know who you are! I have been modeling for over 50 years, and have done commission work for the past 20 and I still do not feel comfortable just putting it out there for all to see. My point is that I HATE this emoji crap that has been added. Too many times people respond with crying, laughing what not but never is there a reason for it. If you are going to respond then for the love of XXXXXX tell us WHY you responded the way you did! End of rant.

3 Likes

It happens across all modeling forums to one extent or another.Its a reflection of society in grneral.

1 Like

Yeah, unfortunately. You would think “fringe hobbies” with small and tight communities would be very positive, and yet… Even the gardening community is full of vile attitudes, which I just can’t understand.

2 Likes

It is not surprising to me, your taking lots of introvert (mostly) and they are doing extrovert tasks. Things will naturally go wrong. The vile of safety from the internet does not help. Where most wouldn’t say the same things in person cause :facepunch:.

4 Likes

As I remember it there isn’t that much difference.
The last week or two has seen some ruffled feathers and upset feelings due to
the invasion of Ukraine but there were similar periods on the old site as well.
People come and go, some left simply because they did not like the changes
due to using Discourse to implement this site.
Some things were better on the old site, some are better here.
People left the old site as well.
Some have knowledge but don’t build all that much.