Panther G #125 Ardennes Camo

Hi there !

Would anyone be aware of a Panther sporting the same camo-pattern but with alternative turret numbering ?

Thankx in advance !

Cheers
Christopher

1 Like

Hello Christopher,
This is the only photo I could find of a Panther sporting the ‘dot’ camo. The photo is from the book “Panther Variants 1942-45” by Doyle & Jentz
Dot Panther
Doesn’t have a turret number but it has the infrared sighting system and spotlight.
I’m not a expert but I don’t think this was a common camouflage pattern on Panthers. I’ve seen it a lot on Jagdpanthers and very late war Panthers such as the one in the photo.
Cheers,
C.

I built a Panther G several years back in markings for Ardennes. While researching photos of Panthers in the campaign, I don’t recall coming across a single one in the “ambush” scheme with the dots applied.

Hey Stikpusher

Actually this camo was quite in fashion from September till October 1944 with all major Panther producers. It seems each maker had a distinctive verity of such pattern formats they developed and would apply in this timeframe … which is also reflected in the Tiger II production run during this period (4 different patterns). My thinking is that this pattern used by Daimler-Benz must have been applied to a couple of their tanks … maybe a dozen or so ? … Panther #215 being the most “researched” to my knowledge.
Anyway … I don’t mind reproducing #215 … but if there is proof of an alternative I wouldn’t mind giving that one a try.
This is how far I have gotten … my first WW2 model since approx. 15 years …

Thankx & Cheers
Christopher

8 Likes

Yes, the three color scheme was factory applied to Panthers at that time. But the addition of the dots to turn it into the “ambush” scheme was not common. If it was in fact used on Panthers at all at that time. That camo type was photographed on other vehicle types during the battle.

1 Like

Late ‘G’ same scheme but no apparent dots

Cheers,
C.

1 Like