Scratchbuild - Mouse Thing!

Hi folks.

Long time auto and WWII aircraft nut here, but for a while I’ve been following and getting inspiration from a lot of very talented modelers throwing together bits and pieces to come up with some awesome builds.

One I found recently was this hover-thingy made mostly from an old mobile phone.

I’ve been waiting for something to magically appear to kick me into gear and have a go at this for the longest time now, and I think that time has come. An old spare mouse finally died, it has some cool textures and profiles, I think I might be able to turn this into something. It definitely won’t be a quick project, likely to sit beside my bench to be tinkered with from time to time, but a vision is already forming.

Please feel free to chime in with any ideas, suggestions, advice as this moves along, I’m a complete newby at this genre.

Cheers, D

26 Likes

Hi D,

I’m betting with you skills in aviation and hotrods, you’ll come up with a cool build!

Cheers
Nick

2 Likes

To me it’s got a Judge Dredd kind of vibe to it.

The hole from the roller looks perfect for mounting some kind of gun.

2 Likes

Im thinking some type of armoured hover recce vehicle ---- side swivel gun mounts or a gun mount one side and recce cameras on the other or central mounted where the mouse wheel goes and fixed sights on the long forward slope with a central cupola … you have me thinking now lol

2 Likes

Like others, the wheel is the front. With a camera/sensors mounted in that location. I think an exposed cockpit is cut out where your palm goes. I think some side panels (sorta like a tie fighter but different shape) off to each side for control/protection.

Other thought, the wheel is the engine exhaust and a cockpit is the palm. Still like the idea of side panel. Some robotic arms for work efforts.

I thinking overall more like research/mining equipment and less military type equipment.

3 Likes

I can see a lot of mouse builds in the future lol

2 Likes