Arma Hobby P-39, Bud Anderson-theme together with a Mustang!

With my Avias almost done, the postman arrived very timely last week with my next build. Or rather buildS but more on that later!

The latest from Arma Hobby, a P-39Q Airacobra! There are other kits in 1/72 out there but most are very old and the only “semi-modern” one, the Academy kit, looks nice in the box but they lost it when it comes to accuracy.

An interesting bunch of marking variants. The top one (the same one that flies by the Golden Gate bridge in the box art) is Bud Anderson’s aircraft before he went to Europe to fly Mustangs. He is the last living triple-ace and he turned 100 this last January. Like all centenarians keeping up with the times he of course has a webpage well worth visiting! :grin:

Two packed sprues of plastic parts.

Some 3D prints, I’ve never tried them before so this will be interesting!

Clear parts.

There is also three ball bearing balls that goes into pre-cast positions in the plastic to avoid tail sitting. Another first I would say :slight_smile: !

Arma makes nice models but somehow I get the feeling that they are even better at marketing! When I pre-ordered the P-39 I immediately got the suggestion that I should buy a Bud Anderson-combo, getting a P-51B in “Old Crow”-markings as well. So, even if I have already done two of them here we go again!

Another really nice box art.

And not only “Old Crow”, this is the 8th AF-boxing we all have been waiting for!

Stay tuned, I’ll probably make a start on these already this weekend. And I will of course build them the way God intended - as a Bud Anderson combo!

:raising_hand_man:

Magnus

12 Likes

I’ll be here looking over your shoulder, Magnus. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Magnus, how could I stay away from another P-39 build? Looking forward to following your build here!

Cheers, D

1 Like

As always Magnus, following with interest!