Semi-Tough: Hobby Link Brings the Gas with M131A5C Semitrailer | Armorama™

Hobby Link (Vietnam) hints at delightful new semi trailer for fuel: the M131A5C Semitrailer.

This is partial text from the full article (usually with photos) at https://armorama.com/news/semi-tough-hobby-link-brings-the-gas-with-m131a5c-semitrailer
2 Likes

Is this 1/35 or 1/72???

It is 1/35. There are tractor conversions he has for the AFV M54. Real Models also has conversions for the Italeri/I Love Kits M925…Hopefully AFV will make a M52/M818…

1 Like

Do you know the years that this trailer was in service I am a modern US builder (2001-presant).

B & L Models is releasing a truck to pull something like this next month.

These were used during Vietnam and up until the early '90s (Desert Storm). They were replaced by the M939 series, which is made by Real Model. See the below link for more info on fuel tanker trailers and to see the Real Model M939.

Not really. The B&L truck is a 10-ton M123, which was used to pull tank transporters and heavier loads. The M131 5k gallon tanker was pulled by an M52 or M816 5-ton truck.

2 Likes

Thank you I appreciate the Info I wish I could get a new fuel tanker and link it to a MTV bobtail.

If you don’t want to convert one like I did…

It may be possible soon, maybe. Trumpeter has announced an M1088 standard cab and an M1088 LTAS cab as coming this year, we will see.

Highlight of Trumpeter 2024-25 catalogue, HEMTT A4s Coming! - Armor/AFV / Modern - KitMaker Network

1 Like

Thanks, Gino, for the clarification. You are correct the trailer and semi would not normally be paired together, though I can imagine situations in Vietnam where it might have happened. Perhaps if @Frenchy is haunting this thread he can come up with a photo showing these unlikely bedfellows?