Tamiya P-38G Build w/ Quinta 3D Decals

Hi All,

I haven’t posted here since about 2007 (unable to recover my old account unfortunately), and am close to a place where I feel like beginning a build thread. Not so much because I am an expert (I’m not), but would love to take advantage of everyone’s expertise as I embark on a new build for the first time since 2019.

Going to start working soon on Tamiya’s P-38 as the G variant. Aftermarket bits include model master gun barrels and Quinta Studios 3D decals.

Wish me luck!

Steve

3 Likes

Then welcome back Steve… A lot of people have talked about this kit and sung it’s praises, so will follow along and see what its like… I’m sure you will get lots of help/tips/advice… Good luck :+1::+1:

1 Like

Excellent! I’m going to be building that kit soon myself. We have a twin-engine fighters group build that has just started if you’d like to pile in there.

Yes! I will check that out! In the group builds section? Still adjusting to new forums lol

It’s still in the staging area for now. One of the campaign gurus will move it to its own subforum presently. Here is the link:

1 Like

So I have less than one month until Grad School is officially over for me, so it may be more prep work and small chunks until I suddenly have a bit more time leading into 2022.

Doing my Homework marking what needs to be sanded away to make a flat surface for the Quinta Studios Decals.

3 Likes

Will be following your build Steve, looking forward to it :smiley:

2 Likes

Hi Steve and welcome back - I’ll be watching for sure . I’ve built this kit recently and it is without doubt the best assembly experience I’ve ever had.
I’m sure you will enjoy it . I’m looking forward to see how the 3D decals work out .
Cheers- RT

1 Like

Awesome! I may bug you about assembly order especially with some of the fiddly bits of the landing gear assemblies!

1 Like

Here is link to my build